24 Edo North APC exco members oppose Oshiomhole’s senatorial ambition

Vanguard News
Join Our Telegram Channel
Join Our WhatsApp Group


Twenty-four of the executive committee members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, from Edo North senatorial district have opposed the senatorial ambition of the former National Chairman of the party, Adams Oshiomhole.

In a communiqué after a meeting in Auchi, Etsako West LGA of the state, they said the purported endorsement of Oshiomhole by the executives of the six local government areas did not get their support.

Some of those who signed the communiqué were Mr. Francis Ozoya (Youth Leader Ward 3, Owan-East), Onaivi Alabi (Auditor, Ward 1, Akoko-Edo), and William Patrick (Asst. Secretary Ward 8, Akoko-Edo), and Chief LuckAgbu (Chairman Ward 3 Etsako-East).

They said the said endorsement championed by the state deputy chairman of the party, Jarret Tenebe, and the party chairman of Etsako West council was not accepted by them during the 70th birthday ceremony of Oshiomhole, where he openly declared his intention.

They said: “The only significant thing that could be likened to an endorsement at the event was a motion to zone the senatorial seat to Etsako West, which was resisted by some of the executives present at the event.

“The argument was that you can’t move the Senate from Etsako East to West. What about the Owan which last had it between 2007 and 2011 and also Akoko-Edo last had it between 2011 to 2015, while it has been in Etsako since then?

“If what happened at Iyamoh is what has been turned into a purported endorsement of Oshiomhole for Senate in 2013, then we are surprised.”


RELATED POSTS:  Give South East The Presidency Or We Leave Nigerians - Igbo Elders