BREAKING: Taofeek Arapaja Elected PDP South-West Chairman


Former Deputy Governor of Oyo State, Chief Taofeek Arapaja, has been declared the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party South-West chairmanship poll, Njenje Media News reports.

Arapaja, who was openly backed by Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State had 343 votes while Eddy Olafeso, the candidate of the former Ekiti State governor, Ayo Fayose, lost.

Arapaja was declared the winner by the Chairman of Congress, Samuel Ortom, who was represented by his deputy, Benson Abounu.

Olafeso has conceded defeat and promised to work with Arapaja to move the party forward.

“The storm is over; there is a new beginning for our party. We have to thank God Almighty that despite odds. There is a new beginning for our party. The time is now. I thank everybody who supported me,” he said.

Meanwhile, Fayose had left the venue even before the result of the election was announced

Arapaja, who thanked Makinde and Fayose for their roles in the party, said, “We thank Governor Seyi Makinde and former Governor Fayose. It’s our party. We will work together and move the party forward. We want to reposition the party. I will work with my brother, Olafeso to achieve our aims.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here